Preschool Theme of the Week — Around the Farm

We’ve been preparing our garden to start our summer planting, so I though this week would be the perfect time for an around the farm theme.  We got to incorporate the planting season with some fun lessons on farm animals and plants, with an emphasis on upper- and lowercase letter identification, numbers and math, and active learning.

Around the farm preschool theme from Hunny I'm Home Around the farm preschool unit from Hunny I'm Home

This week, we used worksheets from farm-related preschool packs offered by Creative Preschool Resources and 3 Dinosaurs.  In our animal lesson, we also played this fun farm animal guessing game from Buggy and Buddy.   We actually did this activity on two different days, in two different ways.  The first time, I hid the animal behind a construction paper door, then gave him clues (This animal starts with “C” and rhymes with “Pow.”).  The next time, he picked an animal, hid it behind the door, and gave me clues (This animal says “moo” and is black and white).  We also had some fun with these farm animal action cards from Lil’ Mop Top based on “Barnyard Dance” by Sandra Boynton.

Around the farm preschool unit from Hunny I'm Home Around the farm preschool unit from Hunny I'm Home

My little guy has been working hard on learning his lowercase letters, so I’ve been making this a priority in the past few units.  I scoured Pinterest in search of uppercase, lowercase letter matching activities with a farm theme, and couldn’t find any free resources…so I made my own.  And I’m sharing it with you!  I used a farmer and tractor so the cards will fit with any farm-related lesson.  Click here to download the PDF.  Just print it on card stock, cut out each letter, then cut them him half and let your little one find the matches!

Around the farm preschool unit from Hunny I'm Home Around the farm preschool unit from Hunny I'm Home

The last half of the week, we focused on plants.  I searched YouTube and found a video of “The Tiny Seed” by Eric Carle, then we used worksheets from gardening packs by This Reading Mama and Homeschool Creations.  Then we used my seed packets to count and add the different types of seeds.  Then we combined them all in a bowl and he sorted them back into the correct packets.  Later that week, we got out in the garden and did some planting.

Around the farm preschool unit from Hunny I'm Home

I found so many great ideas for this theme, that we ran out of time and didn’t get to do everything, including using these cute duck puppets from Pickle Bums and this fun cow milking idea from The Inspired Treehouse.

 

 

One thought on “Preschool Theme of the Week — Around the Farm

Leave a Reply

