Superhero Toddler Room

Superhero Toddler Room from Hunny I'm HomeAfter reconfiguring my little one’s baby crib into a toddler bed, I knew I needed to update his room’s décor as well.  While vintage trains were cute for his nursery, his room needed to match his “big boy” personality.  Superheroes were the obsession at the time, and I knew that theme would be something he could grow into for years to come, so I immediately started search for unique items I could incorporate into the décor.

Luckily superhero decorating was hot at the time and Hobby Lobby was filled with tons of great vintage-style Marvel and DC Comics wall décor, so I snatched up as much as I could!

Superhero Toddler Room from Hunny I'm Home Superhero Toddler Room from Hunny I'm Home

I also knew I needed a better way to store his ever-growing book collection.  In addition to a vintage magazine rack I found at a yard sale, I found some industrial-style baskets at Wal-Mart that worked perfectly, along with some hanging book racks from Hobby Lobby.  These were especially great because they have hooks on the bottom…perfect for displaying his superhero costumes and masks!  I also scored a great metal stool from a flea market that was the perfect size for a toddler-bed side table.

Superhero Toddler Room from Hunny I'm Home Superhero Toddler Room from Hunny I'm Home

Everything came together well, but my favorite part of the room is definitely the part I designed myself.  I found an old hymnal rack from a local church that I planned to use as book storage in his train room.  The rack made a perfect base for this Captain America-inspired bookshelf.  I painted it red, and used circle-shaped wood of varying sizes to construct the shield.

Superhero Toddler Room from Hunny I'm Home

Leave a Reply

