Superhero Third Birthday

Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home

My little one’s fourth birthday is right around the corner, and I’m so excited to start planning his party!  I love party planning, and the theme birthday parties I’ve put together each year are always fun for me, but I think his 3rd birthday was the first that was actually fun for him.

So, in preparation for this year’s party planning and construction, I thought I’d share the details of last year’s birthday.

At the time (and still today), he was obsessed with all things superhero…which later led to a bedroom redecoration (keep an eye out for a future post abut this).  So I immediately looked to Pinterest for inspiration.  I sewed a cape for each of the attendees and found some make-your-own-mask kids from Oriental Trading Company, which served as both an activity and a party favor.

In addition to cupcakes, at three request of the birthday boy, I also made blue velvet cake pops with red candy coating (which were specially equipped with handmade capes), popcorn and pretzels (the LO’s favorite snacks), and individual Jell-O trifles to match the party’s color theme.

Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm HomeSuperhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home

Oriental Trading Company was a lifesaver for this particular party.  The cupcake toppers, balloons, comic-book-inspired Duck Tape, wall decorations and snack holders all came from there.  I also designed my own labels for the soda bottles and snack holders.  For the backdrop, I cut squares from black poster board, then added yellow tissue paper to create the effect of lit buildings.

Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home

Before the party, we had a superhero photo shoot to use for both decorations and the invitations.

Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home Superhero 3rd Birthday from Hunny I'm Home

Leave a Reply

